Graduate Awards 2011

The ABQ Convention and Visitors Bureau Award for Southwestern Culture

Ken Dvorak, Committee Chair

Jerry Bradley Award for Creative Writing

Nathan Brown, Committee Chair
Veronica Sandoval
The University of Texas Pan American

Phyllis Bridges Award for Biography

Melinda McBee, Committee Chair
No award given this year.

Charles Redd Center Award for Western Studies

Dennis Cutchings, Committee Chair
Alex Young
University of Southern California
“The Vigorous New Vernacular:’ Westward Expansion and The Politics of Irony in Mark Twain’s Roughing It.”

Lawrence Clayton Award for Texas Culture

Kenneth Davis, Committee Chair
Deborah Kilgore
University of North Texas

“Ladies Hats, Clubs, and Dividends: Profiles of Four Women Investors in McKinney, Texas, 1910-1924.”

Computer Culture Area Award

Judd Ruggill/Andrew Chen, Judges
Samuel Tobin
The New School for Social Research
“On the Couch, on the Bed, on The Toilet: Mobile Play at Home”

Diana Cox Award for Images of Women

Monica Ganas, Committee Chair
Rachel Austin
University of Colorado, Boulder
“Babes and Predators: Girls, Wolves, and their Mutual Obsession”

Kenneth Davis Award for Folklore Studies

Steve Davis/Christopher Smith, Judges
No award given this year.

Euro Pop Award for European Cultural Issue

Jack Hutchens, Committee Chair
No award given this year.

Peter C. Rollins Award for Popular Culture Issue

Lynnea Chapman King, Committee Chair
No award given this year.

Michael K. Schoenecke Award for American Culture

Diana Cox, Committee Chair
Erin Sapp
Tulane University
“Football’s Muscle: The Impact of a Professional Franchise on mid Century Race Relations in New Orleans.”

Post Script Graduate Student Award in Film Studies

Lynnea Chapman King, Committee Chair
No award granted in 2011

Richard Tuerk “Out of This World” Paper Award for Science Fiction and Fantasy

Tamy Burnett, Committee Chair
“‘Twi-hard’: Violence and the Female Body in Stephenie Meyer’s The Twilight Saga”
Mary Bridgeman
Trinity College Dublin,

2010 Heldrich-Dvorak Travel Fellowship

Ken Dvorak, Committee Chair

Peter C. Rollins Book Award

Ken Dvorak, Committee Chair
Alison Macor’s Chainsaws, Slackers, and Spy Kids: 30 Years of Filmmaking in Austin, Texas (University of Texas Press, 2010)
Karla Rae Fuller’s Hollywood Goes Oriental: CaucAsian Performance in American Film (Wayne State University Press, 2010)  has received an honorable mention