Call for Papers

Conf-header-2

Message, Media, and Meaning

Popular and American Cultures in the Digital Age

Join us for the 36th Annual SWPACA Conference
February 10 – 13, 2016,
Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Check back soon for a full listing of subject areas and instructions on submitting your paper for consideration.

SWPACA Subject Area List:

Culture | Ethnicity | Film, Television, and Media Studies | Language and Writing | Literature | Material Culture | Music | Science Fiction and Fantasy | Special Topics | Teaching and the Profession

Culture

American Studies and American History
Deborah Marinski, PhD, Ohio University – Southern Campus, History, marinski@ohio.edu

Politics:
Jeff Birdsong, PhD, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College, Social Sciences, jbirdsong@neo.edu

Religion
Warren Kay, PhD, Merrimack College, Religious & Theological Studies, kayw@merrimack.edu

Women, Gender, and Sexuality
Pat Tyrer, PhD, West Texas A&M University, English and Modern Languages, ptyrer@wtamu.edu

Ethnicity

Africana Studies
Area Chair TBD. Please see CFP

Arab Culture in the U.S.
Lutfi Hussein PhD,, Mesa Community College, English, lutfi.hussein@yahoo.com

Asian Popular Culture / The Asian-American Experience
Debbie Scally, PhD, University of Texas – Dallas, Humanities, sensei0918@yahoo.com

Chicano/a Literature, Film, and Culture
Jeanette Sanchez, University of Washington, Drama, jeannie8@u.washington.edu

Native American/Indigenous Studies
Margaret Vaughan, PhD, Metropolitan State University, Ethnic Studies, margaret.vaughan@metrostate.edu
Follow the Native American/Indigenous Studies area on Facebook at www.facebook.com/nativeswtxpca and on Twitter @nativeswtxpca

Film, Television, and Media Studies

Adaptation: Literature, Film, and Culture
Chuck Hamilton, PhD, Northeast Texas Community College, English, chamilton@ntcc.edu

Alfred Hitchcock
Michael Howarth, PhD, Missouri Southern State University, English, Howarth-M@mssu.edu

The American West: Film and Literature
Larry Van Meter, PhD, University of Central Oklahoma, English, larry.vanmeter@gmail.com

Classical Representations in Popular Culture
Benjamin Haller, PhD, Virginia Wesleyan College, Classics, bhaller@vwc.eduhttps://www.facebook.com/classical.representations

Computer Culture
Natasha Chuk, PhD, School of Visual Arts, Art History, natychuk@gmail.com

Film Studies
Allen Redmon, PhD, Texas A&M University – Central Texas, English, allen.redmon@ct.tamus.edu

Film and History
Brad Duren, PhD, Oklahoma Panhandle State University, Behavioral & Social Sciences, duren@opsu.edu

Film Theory and Aesthetics
Jennifer L. Jenkins, PhD, University of Arizona, English, jenkinsj@email.arizona.edu

Game Studies, Culture, Play, and Practice
Judd Ruggill, PhD, Arizona State University, Communication, jruggill@asu.edu

Horror (Literary and Cinematic)
Steffen Hantke, PhD, Sogang University, English, steffenhantke@gmail.com

James Bond, Espionage, and Eurospy
Michele Brittany, Independent Scholar, spyfi.superspies@gmail.com

Reality TV
Dalyn Luedtke, PhD, Norwich University, English and Communications, dalyn@norwich.edu

Shakespeare in Popular Culture
Jessica Maerz, PhD, University of Arizona, Theatre Studies, jmaerz@email.arizona.edu

Stardom and Fandom
Lynn Zubernis, PhD, West Chester University of Pennsylvania, Counselor Education, lzubernis@wcupa.edu

Television
Monica Ganas, PhD, Azusa Pacific University, Theater, Mganas@apu.edu

Theatre and Performance Studies
Lynn Sally, PhD, Metropolitan College of New York, American Urban Studies, lsally@mcny.edu

Language and Writing

Creative Writing (Poetry, Fiction)
Jerry Bradley, PhD, Lamar University, English, jerry.bradley@lamar.edu

Creative Writing Pedagogy
Julie Chappell, PhD, Tarleton State University, English & Languages, chappell@tarleton.edu

Experimental Writing and Aesthetics
Hugh Tribbey, PhD, East Central University, English, htribbey@ecok.edu

Linguistics
Maria Eugenia Trillo, PhD, Western New Mexico University, Spanish, trillomariae@gmail.com

Rhetoric and Technical Communication
Meagan Rodgers, PhD, University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma, English, meagan.rodgers@gmail.com

Literature

Beats and Counterculture
Christopher Carmona, PhD, University of Texas at Brownsville, English, beatswtxpca@gmail.com

Biography, Autobiography, Memoir, and Personal Narrative
Melinda McBee, PhD, El Centro College, English, mcbee58@verizon.net

Captivity Narratives
B. Mark Allen, PhD, South Texas College, History and Philosophy, bmallen@southtexascollege.edu

Children’s/Young Adult Literature and Culture
Diana Dominguez, PhD, University of Texas – Brownsville, English, gypsyscholar@rgv.rr.com

European Popular Culture and Literature
M. Catherine Jonet, PhD, New Mexico State University, Women’s Studies, mjonet@nmsu.edu

Graphic Novels, Comics, and Popular Culture
Robert G. Weiner, Texas Tech University Library, Humanities, rweiner5@sbcglobal.net

Eco-Criticism and the Environment
Jeremy Elliott, PhD, Abilene Christian University, Language and Literature, jke10a@acu.edu

Folklore Studies
Phyllis Bridges, PhD, Texas Woman’s University, English, pbri41@msn.com

Literature (General)
Shelley Rees, PhD, University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma, English, srees@usao.edu

Mystery/Detective Fiction
Lexey Bartlett, PhD, Fort Hays State University, English, labartlett@fhsu.edu

Myth and Fairy Tales
Jacquilyn Weeks, PhD, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, English, weeksj@iupui.edu

Poetry and Poetics (Critical)
Scarlett Higgins, PhD, University of New Mexico, English, shiggins@unm.edu

Material Culture

Consumer Culture and Advertising
Michelle Kaiserlian, PhD, Austin Community College, Art, mkaiserl@umail.iu.edu

Fashion, Style, Appearance, & Identity
Carla Perez, PhD, University of the Incarnate Word, Fashion Management,perezc@uiwtx.edu

Food and Culture
Laura Anh Williams, PhD, New Mexico State University, Women’s Studies, lawill@nmsu.edu

Libraries, Archives, Museums, & Popular Culture
Janet Brennan Croft, Rutgers University Library, Access and Delivery Services, jbc134@rulmail.rutgers.edu

Visual Arts
Nancy Kay, PhD, Merrimack College, Art History,kayn@merrimack.edu

Music

Grateful Dead
Nicholas Meriwether, University of California – Santa Cruz, McHenry Library, nicholas@ucsc.edu

Music: Traditional, Political, Popular
Cody Smith, PhD, College of the Mainland, History, codyhsmith@gmail.com

Punk Music and Culture
Bryan L. Jones, Oklahoma State University, English, bryan.l.jones@okstate.edu

Rap and Hip-Hop Culture
Robert Tinajero, PhD, Paul Quinn College, English, hiphopcfp@hotmail.com

Science Fiction and Fantasy

Follow the Science Fiction and Fantasy area on Facebook at www.facebook.com/swtxsff and on Twitter @swtxsffchairs

Science Fiction and Fantasy – General
Rikk Mulligan, PhD, Association of Research Libraries, Scholarly Publishing, rikk.mulligan@gmail.com

Science Fiction and Fantasy – Literature
Brian Cowlishaw, PhD, Northeastern State University, Languages and Literature, cowlishb@nsuok.edu

Doctor Who and/or Torchwood
Erin Giannini, PhD, Independent Scholar, egiannini37@gmail.com

A Game of Thrones
Brian Cowlishaw, PhD, Northeastern State University, Languages and Literature, cowlishb@nsuok.edu

The Hunger Games
Brian Cowlishaw, PhD, Northeastern State University, Languages and Literature, cowlishb@nsuok.edu

Supernatural (TV series)
Tamy Burnett, PhD, University of Nebraska – Lincoln, English, swtxpca.org@gmail.com

The Vampire Diaries
Tamy Burnett,  PhD,University of Nebraska – Lincoln, English, swtxpca.org@gmail.com

The Works of Joss Whedon
Susan Fanetti, PhD, California State University – Sacramento, English, sfanetti@csus.edu

Special Topics

Apocalypse, Dystopia, and Disaster in Culture
Shane Trayers, PhD, Middle Georgia State College – Macon Campus, English, trayers.shane@gmail.com

Breaking Bad
Nick Gerlich, PhD, West Texas A&M University, Marketing, ngerlich@wtamu.edu

Children in Film
Debbie Olson, University of Texas – Arlington, English, dolson@uta.edu

Cormac McCarthy
Richmond Adams, PhD, Eastern Oklahoma State College, English, richmondadams2004@gmail.com

Crime and Culture
Darrell Hamlin, PhD, Fort Hays State University, Justice Studies, dahamlin@fhsu.edu

Digital Humanities
David D. Oberhelman, PhD, Oklahoma State University Library, Humanities-Social Sciences Division, d.oberhelman@okstate.eduhttp://dhswpaca.wordpress.com

Disability Studies
Lexey Bartlett, PhD, Fort Hays State University, English, labartlett@fhsu.edu

Eclectica
Jeff Clayton, PhD, Lee College, English, jclayton@lee.edu

The Geek and Popular Culture
Kathryn Lane, PhD, Northwest Oklahoma State University, English, kelane@nwosu.edu

Harry Potter Studies
Christopher Bell, PhD, University of Colorado – Colorado Springs, Communication, cbell3@uccs.edu

Material Culture and the Built Environment
Lisa Schrenk, PhD, University of Arizona, Architectural History, lschrenk@email.arizona.edu

Motor Culture and the Road
Stacy Rusnak, PhD, Georgia Gwinnett College, Film, srusnak@ggc.edu

Mystery Science Theater and the Culture of Riffing
Robert G. Weiner, Texas Tech University Library, Humanities, rweiner5@sbcglobal.net

Neo-Victorianism and Steampunk
Gordon Marshall, PhD, Istanbul Aydin University, English, gordmarshall@gmail.com

Philosophy and Popular Culture
Burcu Gurkan, PhD, Istanbul Sehir University, Foreign Languages, philswpca@gmail.com

Science, Technology, and Culture
Warren Kay, PhD, Merrimack College, Religious & Theological Studies, kayw@merrimack.edu 

War and Culture
Steffen Hantke, PhD, Sogang University, English, steffenhantke@gmail.com

Zombie Culture
Robert G. Weiner, Texas Tech University Library, Humanities, rweiner5@sbcglobal.net

Teaching and the Profession

Pedagogy and Popular Culture
Co-chairs:
Kurt Depner, New Mexico State University, kudepner@nmsu.edu
Erik Walker, Plymouth South High School, English & Journalism, ErikMWalker@aol.com
Facebook Group:  SWPACA Pedagogy & Popular Culture
Twitter:  Pedagogy&PopCulture ‏@SWPCAPedagogy

Undergraduate Presentations
Raymond A. Hall, PhD, Central Washington University, Africana and Black Studies, hallray@cwu.edu