Call for Papers

CFP-2017-Conf-Header

Proposals for papers and panels are now being accepted for the 38th annual SWPACA conference.  One of the nation’s largest interdisciplinary academic conferences, SWPACA offers nearly 70 subject areas, each typically featuring multiple panels.

For a full list of subject areas, area descriptions, and Area Chairs, please see below.

All proposals must be submitted through the conference’s database at http://conference2017.southwestpca.org/

For details on using the submission database and on the application process in general, please see the Proposal Submission FAQs and Tips page at http://southwestpca.org/conference/faqs-and-tips/proposal-submission-faqs-and-tips/

Individual proposals for 15 minute papers must include an abstract of approximately 200-500 words.  Including a brief bio in the body of the proposal form is encouraged, but not required.

For information on how to submit a proposal for a roundtable or a multi-paper panel, please view the above FAQs and Tips page.

The deadline for submissions is November 1, 2016.

SWPACA offers monetary awards for the best graduate student papers in a variety of categories. Submissions of accepted, full papers are due December 1.  For more information, visit http://southwestpca.org/conference/graduate-student-awards/

Registration and travel information for the conference is available at http://southwestpca.org/conference/conference-registration-information/

We look forward to receiving your submissions.

If you have any questions about the proposal process, please contact:
Kelli Shapiro, PhD
Conference Programming and Engagement Coordinator,
kshapiro@southwestpca.org

 

SWPACA Subject Area List:

Film, Television, Music, and Visual Media | Historic and Contemporary Cultures | Identities and Cultures | Language and Literature | Science Fiction and Fantasy | Teaching and the Profession | Eclectica

media

Open: Film, Television, Music, and Visual Media

Film, Television, Music, and Visual Media

Adaptation: Literature, Film, and Culture
Chuck Hamilton, PhD, Northeast Texas Community College, English, chamilton@ntcc.edu

Advertising and Consumer Culture
TBA

Alfred Hitchcock
Michael Howarth, PhD, Missouri Southern State University, English, Howarth-M@mssu.edu

The American West: Film and Literature
Larry Van Meter, PhD, Blinn College, English, larry.vanmeter@gmail.com

Breaking Bad / Better Call Saul
Nick Gerlich, PhD, West Texas A&M University, Marketing, ngerlich@wtamu.edu

Computer Culture
Natasha Chuk, PhD, School of Visual Arts, Art History, natychuk@gmail.com

Digital Humanities
David D. Oberhelman, PhD, Oklahoma State University Library, d.oberhelman@okstate.edu, http://dhswpaca.wordpress.com

Film and History
Brad Duren, PhD, Oklahoma Panhandle State University, Behavioral & Social Sciences, duren@opsu.edu

Film Studies
Allen Redmon, PhD, Texas A&M University – Central Texas, English, allen.redmon@ct.tamus.edu

Film Theory and Aesthetics
Amy Fatzinger, PhD, University of Arizona, American Indian Studies, fatzinge@email.arizona.edu

Game Studies, Culture, Play, and Practice
Judd Ruggill, PhD, University of Arizona, jruggill@email.arizona.edu

Grateful Dead
Nicholas Meriwether, University of California – Santa Cruz, McHenry Library, nicholas@ucsc.edu

Horror (Literary and Cinematic)
Steffen Hantke, PhD, Sogang University, English, steffenhantke@gmail.com

James Bond, Espionage, and Eurospy
Michele Brittany, Independent Scholar, spyfi.superspies@gmail.com

Music: Traditional, Political, Popular
Cody Smith, PhD, College of the Mainland, History, codyhsmith@gmail.com

Mystery Science Theater and the Culture of Riffing
Robert G. Weiner, Texas Tech University Library, rweiner5@sbcglobal.net

Rap and Hip-Hop Culture
Robert Tinajero, PhD, Paul Quinn College, English, rtinajero@pqc.edu

Television
TBA

Theatre and Performance Studies
Monica Ganas, PhD, Azusa Pacific University, Theater, Mganas@apu.edu

Visual Arts
Nancy Kay, PhD, Merrimack College, Art History,  nancy.kay@fulbrightmail.org

historic

Open: Historic and Contemporary Cultures

Historic and Contemporary Cultures

American Studies and American History
Deborah Marinski, PhD, Ohio University – Southern Campus, History, marinski@ohio.edu

Beats, Counterculture, and Hipsters
Christopher Carmona, PhD, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, Creative Writing, christophercarmona@icloud.com

Classical Representations in Popular Culture
Benjamin Haller, PhD, Virginia Wesleyan College, Classics, bhaller@vwc.edu, https://www.facebook.com/classical.representations

Crime and Culture
Darrell Hamlin, PhD, Fort Hays State University, Justice Studies, dahamlin@fhsu.edu

Fashion, Style, Appearance, & Identity
Carla Perez, PhD, University of the Incarnate Word, Fashion Management, perezc@uiwtx.edu

Food and Culture
Laura Anh Williams, PhD, New Mexico State University, Women’s Studies, lawill@nmsu.edu

The Geek and Popular Culture
Kathryn Lane, PhD, Northwest Oklahoma State University, English, kelane@nwosu.edu

Libraries, Archives, Museums, & Popular Culture
Janet Brennan Croft, Rutgers University Library, jbc134@rulmail.rutgers.edu

Material Culture and the Built Environment
Lisa Schrenk, PhD, University of Arizona, Architectural History, lschrenk@email.arizona.edu

Mothers, Motherhood, and Mothering in Popular Culture
Kathleen Lacey, SWPACA Leadership Institute Fellow, University of Nebraska – Lincoln, klacey@southwestpca.org

Motor Culture and the Road
Stacy Rusnak, PhD, Georgia Gwinnett College, Film, srusnak@ggc.edu

Neo-Victorianism and Steampunk
Gordon Marshall, PhD, Ankara University, American Studies, gordmarshall@gmail.com

Philosophy and Popular Culture
Burcu Gurkan, PhD, Istanbul Sehir University, Foreign Languages, philswpca@gmail.com

Politics
TBA

Religion
Warren Kay, PhD, Merrimack College, Religious & Theological Studies, kayw@merrimack.edu

Science, Technology, and Culture
Aaron Adair, PhD, Independent Scholar, adairaar@gmail.com

Shakespeare in Popular Culture
Jessica Maerz, PhD, University of Arizona, Theatre Studies, jmaerz@email.arizona.edu

Stardom and Fandom
Lynn Zubernis, PhD, West Chester University of Pennsylvania, Counselor Education, lzubernis@wcupa.edu

War and CultureSteffen Hantke, PhD, Sogang University, English, steffenhantke@gmail.com

Identity

Open: Identities and Cultures

Identities and Cultures

African American / Black Studies
Debbie Olson, PhD, Missouri Valley College, English, olsond@moval.edu

Arab Culture in the U.S.
TBA

Asian Popular Culture / The Asian American Experience
Elaine Cho, PhD, Eastfield College, English, elainecho@dcccd.edu

Chicano/a Literature, Film, and Culture
Jeanette Sanchez, University of Washington, Drama, jeannie8@u.washington.edu

Disability Studies
Lexey Bartlett, PhD, Fort Hays State University, English, labartlett@fhsu.edu

Native American/Indigenous Studies
Margaret Vaughan, PhD, Metropolitan State University, Ethnic Studies, margaret.vaughan@metrostate.edu

Women, Gender, and Sexuality
Pat Tyrer, PhD, West Texas A&M University, English and Modern Languages, ptyrer@wtamu.edu

language

Open: Language and Literature

Language and Literature

Biography, Autobiography, Memoir, and Personal Narrative
Melinda McBee, PhD, Independent Scholar, mcbee58@verizon.net

Captivity Narratives
B. Mark Allen, PhD, South Texas College, History and Philosophy, bmallen@southtexascollege.edu

Children’s / Young Adult Literature and Culture
Diana Dominguez, PhD, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, Literatures and Cultural Studies, gypsyscholar60@rgv.rr.com

Cormac McCarthy
Katherine Sugg, PhD, Central Connecticut State University, English, suggkae@ccsu.edu

Creative Writing (Poetry, Fiction)
Jerry Bradley, PhD, Lamar University, English, jerry.bradley@lamar.edu

Eco-Criticism and the Environment
Jeremy Elliott, PhD, Abilene Christian University, Language and Literature, jke10a@acu.edu

European Popular Culture and Literature
Tyler Blake, PhD, MidAmerica Nazarene University, English, jtblake2@mnu.edu

Folklore Studies
Helen McCourt, PhD, Collin College, English, HMcCourt@collin.edu

Graphic Novels, Comics, and Popular Culture
Robert G. Weiner, Texas Tech University Library, rweiner5@sbcglobal.net

Linguistics
TBA

Literature (General)
Samantha Lay, PhD, University of West Alabama, English, slay@uwa.edu

Mystery / Detective Fiction
Lexey Bartlett, PhD, Fort Hays State University, English, labartlett@fhsu.edu

Myth and Fairy Tales
Sheila Dooley, PhD, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, Writing and Language Studies, sheila.dooley@utrgv.edu

Poetry and Poetics (Critical)
Scarlett Higgins, PhD, University of New Mexico, English, shiggins@unm.edu

Rhetoric and Technical Communication
Robert Galin, University of New Mexico – Gallup, English and Communications, rgalin@unm.edu

sci-fi

Open: Science Fiction and Fantasy

Science Fiction and Fantasy

Apocalypse, Dystopia, and Disaster in Culture
Shane Trayers, PhD, Middle Georgia State College – Macon Campus, English, trayers.shane@gmail.com

Harry Potter Studies
Christopher Bell, PhD, University of Colorado – Colorado Springs, Communication, cbell3@uccs.edu

Science Fiction and Fantasy – General
Susan Fanetti, PhD, California State University – Sacramento, English, sfanetti@csus.edu
Follow the Science Fiction and Fantasy area on Facebook at www.facebook.com/swtxsff and on Twitter @swtxsffchairs

Supernatural (TV series)
Erin Giannini, PhD, Independent Scholar, egiannini37@gmail.com

The Works of Joss Whedon
Susan Fanetti, PhD, California State University – Sacramento, English, sfanetti@csus.edu

Zombie Culture
Robert G. Weiner, Texas Tech University Library, rweiner5@sbcglobal.net

teaching

Show the Content

Teaching and the Profession

Pedagogy and Popular Culture
Kurt Depner, New Mexico State University – Dona Ana, English, kudepner@nmsu.edu
Facebook Group: SWPACA Pedagogy & Popular Culture
Twitter: Pedagogy&PopCulture ‏@SWPCAPedagogy

Undergraduate Presentations
TBA
Note: All individual presentations by undergrads must be submitted to this area in the submission database

eclectia

Open: Eclectica

Eclectica

Eclectica: For Topics with No Other Home
Jeff Clayton, PhD, Lee College, English, jclayton@lee.edu