Call for Papers

Conf-header-2016

Join us for the 37thAnnual SWPACA Conference

February 10 – 13, 2016,
Albuquerque, New Mexico.

 

A full list of the conference’s subject areas is below. Each area has its own Call for Papers. Please click the name of each area to see its individual CFP.

If you have questions about a specific area, please contact its Area Chair. If you have questions about the proposal process, please contact the Area Development and Awards Coordinator, Kelli Shapiro, PhD, at kshapiro@southwestpca.org.

The proposal deadline is November 1, 2015.

UPDATE: The deadline to submit your proposals has been extended to November 15, 2015! 

We are now accepting proposal submissions at conference2016.southwestpca.org.

SWPACA Subject Area List:

Film, Television, Music, and Visual Media | Historic and Contemporary Cultures | Identities and Cultures | Language and Literature | Science Fiction and Fantasy | Teaching and the Profession | Eclectica

media

Film, Television, Music, and Visual Media

Adaptation: Literature, Film, and Culture
Chuck Hamilton, PhD, Northeast Texas Community College, English, chamilton@ntcc.edu

Advertising and Consumer Culture
Patricia Boyd, PhD, Arizona State University, English, Patricia.Boyd@asu.edu

Alfred Hitchcock
Michael Howarth, PhD, Missouri Southern State University, English, Howarth-M@mssu.edu

The American West: Film and Literature
Larry Van Meter, PhD, Blinn College, English, larry.vanmeter@gmail.com

Breaking Bad / Better Call Saul
Nick Gerlich, PhD, West Texas A&M University, Marketing, ngerlich@wtamu.edu

Computer Culture
Natasha Chuk, PhD, School of Visual Arts, Art History, natychuk@gmail.com

Digital Humanities
David D. Oberhelman, PhD, Oklahoma State University Library, d.oberhelman@okstate.edu, http://dhswpaca.wordpress.com

Film and History
Brad Duren, PhD, Oklahoma Panhandle State University, Behavioral & Social Sciences, duren@opsu.edu

Film Studies
Allen Redmon, PhD, Texas A&M University – Central Texas, English, allen.redmon@ct.tamus.edu

Film Theory and Aesthetics
Jennifer L. Jenkins, PhD, University of Arizona, English, jenkinsj@email.arizona.edu

Game Studies, Culture, Play, and Practice
Judd Ruggill, PhD, Arizona State University, Communication, jruggill@asu.edu

Grateful Dead
Nicholas Meriwether, University of California – Santa Cruz, McHenry Library, nicholas@ucsc.edu

Horror (Literary and Cinematic)
Steffen Hantke, PhD, Sogang University, English, steffenhantke@gmail.com

James Bond, Espionage, and Eurospy
Michele Brittany, Independent Scholar, spyfi.superspies@gmail.com

Music: Traditional, Political, Popular
Cody Smith, PhD, College of the Mainland, History, codyhsmith@gmail.com

Mystery Science Theater and the Culture of Riffing
Robert G. Weiner, Texas Tech University Library, rweiner5@sbcglobal.net

Rap and Hip-Hop Culture
Robert Tinajero, PhD, Paul Quinn College, English, rtinajero@pqc.edu

Reality TV
Dalyn Luedtke, PhD, Norwich University, English and Communications, dalyn@norwich.edu

Television
Monica Ganas, PhD, Azusa Pacific University, Theater, Mganas@apu.edu

Theatre and Performance Studies
Lynn Sally, PhD, Metropolitan College of New York, American Urban Studies, lsally@mcny.edu

Visual Arts
Nancy Kay, PhD, Merrimack College, Art History,kayn@merrimack.edu

historic

Historic and Contemporary Cultures

American Studies and American History
Deborah Marinski, PhD, Ohio University – Southern Campus, History, marinski@ohio.edu

Beats, Counterculture, and Hipsters
Christopher Carmona, PhD, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, Creative Writing, christophercarmona@icloud.com

Classical Representations in Popular Culture
Benjamin Haller, PhD, Virginia Wesleyan College, Classics,bhaller@vwc.edu, https://www.facebook.com/classical.representations

Crime and Culture
Darrell Hamlin, PhD, Fort Hays State University, Justice Studies, dahamlin@fhsu.edu

Fashion, Style, Appearance, & Identity
Carla Perez, PhD, University of the Incarnate Word, Fashion Management, perezc@uiwtx.edu

Food and Culture
Laura Anh Williams, PhD, New Mexico State University, Women’s Studies, lawill@nmsu.edu

The Geek and Popular Culture
Kathryn Lane, PhD, Northwest Oklahoma State University, English, kelane@nwosu.edu

Libraries, Archives, Museums, & Popular Culture
Janet Brennan Croft, Rutgers University Library, jbc134@rulmail.rutgers.edu

Material Culture and the Built Environment
Lisa Schrenk, PhD, University of Arizona, Architectural History, lschrenk@email.arizona.edu

Mothers, Motherhood, and Mothering in Popular Culture
Anna CohenMiller, PhD, Nazerbayev University, Education, anna@cohenmiller.com

Motor Culture and the Road
Stacy Rusnak, PhD, Georgia Gwinnett College, Film, srusnak@ggc.edu

Neo-Victorianism and Steampunk
Gordon Marshall, PhD, Istanbul Aydin University, English, gordmarshall@gmail.com

Philosophy and Popular Culture
Burcu Gurkan, PhD, Istanbul Sehir University, Foreign Languages, philswpca@gmail.com

Politics
Darrell Hamlin, PhD, Fort Hays State University, Justice Studies, dahamlin@fhsu.edu

Religion
Warren Kay, PhD, Merrimack College, Religious & Theological Studies, kayw@merrimack.edu

Science, Technology, and Culture
Warren Kay, PhD, Merrimack College, Religious & Theological Studies, kayw@merrimack.edu

Shakespeare in Popular Culture
Jessica Maerz, PhD, University of Arizona, Theatre Studies, jmaerz@email.arizona.edu

Stardom and Fandom
Lynn Zubernis, PhD, West Chester University of Pennsylvania, Counselor Education, lzubernis@wcupa.edu

War and Culture
Steffen Hantke, PhD, Sogang University, English, steffenhantke@gmail.com

Identity

Identities and Cultures

African American / Black Studies
Debbie Olson, PhD, University of Texas at Arlington, dolson@uta.edu

Arab Culture in the U.S.
Tyler Blake, PhD, MidAmerica Nazarene University, English, jtblake2@mnu.edu

Asian Popular Culture / The Asian American Experience
Elaine Cho, PhD, Eastfield College, English, elainecho@dcccd.edu

Chicano/a Literature, Film, and Culture
Jeanette Sanchez, University of Washington, Drama, jeannie8@u.washington.edu

Disability Studies
Lexey Bartlett, PhD, Fort Hays State University, English, labartlett@fhsu.edu

Native American/Indigenous Studies
Margaret Vaughan, PhD, Metropolitan State University, Ethnic Studies, margaret.vaughan@metrostate.edu

Women, Gender, and Sexuality
Pat Tyrer, PhD, West Texas A&M University, English and Modern Languages, ptyrer@wtamu.edu

language

Language and Literature

Biography, Autobiography, Memoir, and Personal Narrative
Melinda McBee, PhD, Independent Scholar, mcbee58@verizon.net

Captivity Narratives
B. Mark Allen, PhD, South Texas College, History and Philosophy, bmallen@southtexascollege.edu

Children’s / Young Adult Literature and Culture
Diana Dominguez, PhD, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, Literatures and Cultural Studies, gypsyscholar60@rgv.rr.com
Assistant Area Chair / SWPACA Leadership Institute Fellow: Kathleen Lacey, University of Nebraska – Lincoln, klacey@southwestpca.org

Cormac McCarthy
Katherine Sugg, PhD, Central Connecticut State University, English, suggkae@ccsu.edu

Creative Writing (Poetry, Fiction)
Jerry Bradley, PhD, Lamar University, English, jerry.bradley@lamar.edu

Eco-Criticism and the Environment
Jeremy Elliott, PhD, Abilene Christian University, Language and Literature, jke10a@acu.edu

European Popular Culture and Literature
M. Catherine Jonet, PhD, New Mexico State University, Women’s Studies, mjonet@nmsu.edu

Folklore Studies
Helen McCourt, PhD, Collin College, English, helen.mccourt1@gmail.com

Graphic Novels, Comics, and Popular Culture
Robert G. Weiner, Texas Tech University Library, rweiner5@sbcglobal.net

Linguistics
Maria Eugenia Trillo, PhD, Independent Scholar, metswpca2015@gmail.com

Literature (General)
Samantha Lay, PhD, University of West Alabama, English, slay@uwa.edu

Mystery / Detective Fiction
Lexey Bartlett, PhD, Fort Hays State University, English, labartlett@fhsu.edu

Myth and Fairy Tales
Sheila Dooley, PhD, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, Writing and Language Studies, sheila.dooley@utrgv.edu

Poetry and Poetics (Critical)
Scarlett Higgins, PhD, University of New Mexico, English, shiggins@unm.edu

Rhetoric and Technical Communication
Robert Galin, University of New Mexico – Gallup, English and Communications, rgalin@unm.edu

sci-fi

Science Fiction and Fantasy

Follow the Science Fiction and Fantasy area on Facebook at www.facebook.com/swtxsff and on Twitter @swtxsffchairs

Apocalypse, Dystopia, and Disaster in Culture
Shane Trayers, PhD, Middle Georgia State College – Macon Campus, English, trayers.shane@gmail.com

British Sci-Fi / Fantasy Television
Erin Giannini, PhD, Independent Scholar, egiannini37@gmail.com

A Game of Thrones
Tamy Burnett, PhD, University of Nebraska – Lincoln, Honors Program, tburnett@southwestpca.org

Harry Potter Studies
Christopher Bell, PhD, University of Colorado – Colorado Springs, Communication, cbell3@uccs.edu

Science Fiction and Fantasy – General
Rikk Mulligan, PhD, Association of Research Libraries, rikk.mulligan@gmail.com

Science Fiction and Fantasy – Literature
Tamy Burnett, PhD, University of Nebraska – Lincoln, Honors Program, tburnett@southwestpca.org

Supernatural (TV series)
Tamy Burnett, PhD, University of Nebraska – Lincoln, Honors Program, tburnett@southwestpca.org

The Works of Joss Whedon
Susan Fanetti, PhD, California State University – Sacramento, English, sfanetti@csus.edu

Zombie Culture
Robert G. Weiner, Texas Tech University Library, rweiner5@sbcglobal.net

teaching

Teaching and the Profession

Pedagogy and Popular Culture
Kurt Depner, New Mexico State University – Dona Ana, English, kudepner@nmsu.edu
Facebook Group: SWPACA Pedagogy & Popular Culture
Twitter: Pedagogy&PopCulture ‏@SWPCAPedagogy

Undergraduate Presentations
Note: All individual proposals by undergrads must be submitted here
Raymond A. Hall, PhD, Central Washington University, Africana and Black Studies, hallray@cwu.edu

eclectia

Eclectica

Eclectica: For Topics with No Other Home
Jeff Clayton, PhD, Lee College, English, jclayton@lee.edu