Call for Papers

Conf-header-3

Join us for the 37th Annual SWPACA Conference

February 10 – 13, 2016,
Albuquerque, New Mexico.

A full list of the conference’s subject areas is below.  Each area has its own Call for Papers.  Please click the name of each area to see its individual CFP.

If you have questions about a specific area, please contact its Area Chair.  If you have questions about the proposal process, please contact the Area Development and Awards Coordinator, Kelli Shapiro, PhD, at kshapiro@southwestpca.org.

The proposal deadline is November 1, 2015.     

We are now accepting proposal submissions at conference2016.southwestpca.org.

SWPACA Subject Area List:

Culture | Ethnicity | Film, Television, and Media Studies | Language and Writing | Literature | Material Culture | Music | Science Fiction and Fantasy | Special Topics | Teaching and the Profession

Culture

American Studies and American History
Deborah Marinski, PhD, Ohio University – Southern Campus, History, marinski@ohio.edu

Mothers, Motherhood, and Mothering in Popular Culture:
Anna CohenMiller, PhD, Nazerbayev Univeristy, Graduate School of Education, anna@cohenmiller.com

Politics:
Darrell Hamlin, PhD, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College, Social Sciences, dahamlin@fhsu.edu

Religion
Warren Kay, PhD, Merrimack College, Religious & Theological Studies, kayw@merrimack.edu

War and Culture
Steffen Hantke, PhD, Sogang University, English, steffenhantke@gmail.com

Women, Gender, and Sexuality
Pat Tyrer, PhD, West Texas A&M University, English and Modern Languages, ptyrer@wtamu.edu

Ethnicity

Africana Studies
Area Chair TBD.

Arab Culture in the U.S.
Area Chair TBD

Asian Popular Culture / The Asian-American Experience
Area Chair TBD

Chicano/a Literature, Film, and Culture
Jeanette Sanchez, University of Washington, Drama, jeannie8@u.washington.edu

Native American/Indigenous Studies
Margaret Vaughan, PhD, Metropolitan State University, Ethnic Studies, margaret.vaughan@metrostate.edu
Follow the Native American/Indigenous Studies area on Facebook at www.facebook.com/nativeswtxpca and on Twitter @nativeswtxpca

Film, Television, and Media Studies

Adaptation: Literature, Film, and Culture
Chuck Hamilton, PhD, Northeast Texas Community College, English, chamilton@ntcc.edu

Alfred Hitchcock
Michael Howarth, PhD, Missouri Southern State University, English, Howarth-M@mssu.edu

The American West: Film and Literature
Larry Van Meter, PhD, University of Central Oklahoma, English, larry.vanmeter@gmail.com

Apocalypse, Dystopia, and Disaster in Culture
Shane Trayers, PhD, Middle Georgia State College – Macon Campus, English, trayers.shane@gmail.com

Classical Representations in Popular Culture
Benjamin Haller, PhD, Virginia Wesleyan College, Classics, bhaller@vwc.eduhttps://www.facebook.com/classical.representations

Computer Culture
Natasha Chuk, PhD, School of Visual Arts, Art History, natychuk@gmail.com

Film Studies
Allen Redmon, PhD, Texas A&M University – Central Texas, English, allen.redmon@ct.tamus.edu

Film and History
Brad Duren, PhD, Oklahoma Panhandle State University, Behavioral & Social Sciences, duren@opsu.edu

Film Theory and Aesthetics
Jennifer L. Jenkins, PhD, University of Arizona, English, jenkinsj@email.arizona.edu

Game Studies, Culture, Play, and Practice
Judd Ruggill, PhD, Arizona State University, Communication, jruggill@asu.edu

Horror (Literary and Cinematic)
Steffen Hantke, PhD, Sogang University, English, steffenhantke@gmail.com

James Bond, Espionage, and Eurospy
Michele Brittany, Independent Scholar, spyfi.superspies@gmail.com

Reality TV
Dalyn Luedtke, PhD, Norwich University, English and Communications, dalyn@norwich.edu

Shakespeare in Popular Culture
Jessica Maerz, PhD, University of Arizona, Theatre Studies, jmaerz@email.arizona.edu

Stardom and Fandom
Lynn Zubernis, PhD, West Chester University of Pennsylvania, Counselor Education, lzubernis@wcupa.edu

Television
Monica Ganas, PhD, Azusa Pacific University, Theater, Mganas@apu.edu

Theatre and Performance Studies
Lynn Sally, PhD, Metropolitan College of New York, American Urban Studies, lsally@mcny.edu

Language and Writing

Creative Writing (Poetry, Fiction)
Jerry Bradley, PhD, Lamar University, English, jerry.bradley@lamar.edu

Linguistics
Maria Eugenia Trillo, PhD, Independent Scholar, metswpca2015@gmail.com

Rhetoric and Technical Communication
Area Chair TBD

Literature

Beats, Counterculture, and Hipsters
Christopher Carmona, PhD, University of Texas at Brownsville, English, christophercarmona@icloud.com

Biography, Autobiography, Memoir, and Personal Narrative
Melinda McBee, PhD, Independent Scholar, mcbee58@verizon.net

Captivity Narratives
B. Mark Allen, PhD, South Texas College, History and Philosophy, bmallen@southtexascollege.edu

Children’s/Young Adult Literature and Culture
Diana Dominguez, PhD, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, Literatures and Cultural Studies, gypsyscholar60@rgv.rr.com

Assistant Area Chair / SWPACA Leadership Institute Fellow: Kathleen Lacey, University of Nebraska – Lincoln,  klacey@southwestpca.org

 

Eco-Criticism and the Environment
Jeremy Elliott, PhD, Abilene Christian University, Language and Literature, jke10a@acu.edu

European Popular Culture and Literature
M. Catherine Jonet, PhD, New Mexico State University, Women’s Studies, mjonet@nmsu.edu

Folklore Studies
Helen McCourt, Collin College, English, helen.mccourt1@gmail.com

Graphic Novels, Comics, and Popular Culture
Robert G. Weiner, Texas Tech University Library, rweiner5@sbcglobal.net

Literature (General)
Area Chair TBD

Mystery/Detective Fiction
Lexey Bartlett, PhD, Fort Hays State University, English, labartlett@fhsu.edu

Myth and Fairy Tales
Chair TBD

Poetry and Poetics (Critical)
Scarlett Higgins, PhD, University of New Mexico, English, shiggins@unm.edu

Material Culture

Consumer Culture and Advertising
Chair TBD

Fashion, Style, Appearance, & Identity
Carla Perez, PhD, University of the Incarnate Word, Fashion Management,perezc@uiwtx.edu

Food and Culture
Laura Anh Williams, PhD, New Mexico State University, Women’s Studies, lawill@nmsu.edu

Libraries, Archives, Museums, & Popular Culture
Janet Brennan Croft, Rutgers University Library, jbc134@rulmail.rutgers.edu

Visual Arts
Nancy Kay, PhD, Merrimack College, Art History,kayn@merrimack.edu

Music

Grateful Dead
Nicholas Meriwether, University of California – Santa Cruz, McHenry Library, nicholas@ucsc.edu

Music: Traditional, Political, Popular
Cody Smith, PhD, College of the Mainland, History, codyhsmith@gmail.com

Rap and Hip-Hop Culture
Robert Tinajero, PhD, Paul Quinn College, English, hiphopcfp@hotmail.com

Science Fiction and Fantasy

Follow the Science Fiction and Fantasy area on Facebook at www.facebook.com/swtxsff and on Twitter @swtxsffchairs

Science Fiction and Fantasy – General
Rikk Mulligan, PhD, Association of Research Libraries, rikk.mulligan@gmail.com

Science Fiction and Fantasy – Literature
Brian Cowlishaw, PhD, Northeastern State University, Languages and Literature, cowlishb@nsuok.edu

British Sci-Fi Television 
Erin Giannini, PhD, Independent Scholar, egiannini37@gmail.com

A Game of Thrones
Brian Cowlishaw, PhD, Northeastern State University, Languages and Literature, cowlishb@nsuok.edu

Supernatural (TV series)
Tamy Burnett, PhD, University of Nebraska – Lincoln, Honors Program, tburnett@southwestpca.org

The Works of Joss Whedon
Susan Fanetti, PhD, California State University – Sacramento, English, sfanetti@csus.edu

Special Topics

Breaking Bad / Better Call Saul
Nick Gerlich, PhD, West Texas A&M University, Marketing, ngerlich@wtamu.edu

Cormac McCarthy
Chair TBD

Crime and Culture
Darrell Hamlin, PhD, Fort Hays State University, Justice Studies, dahamlin@fhsu.edu

Digital Humanities
David D. Oberhelman, PhD, Oklahoma State University Library, d.oberhelman@okstate.eduhttp://dhswpaca.wordpress.com

Disability Studies
Lexey Bartlett, PhD, Fort Hays State University, English, labartlett@fhsu.edu

Eclectica
Jeff Clayton, PhD, Lee College, English, jclayton@lee.edu

The Geek and Popular Culture
Kathryn Lane, PhD, Northwest Oklahoma State University, English, kelane@nwosu.edu

Harry Potter Studies
Christopher Bell, PhD, University of Colorado – Colorado Springs, Communication, cbell3@uccs.edu

Material Culture and the Built Environment
Lisa Schrenk, PhD, University of Arizona, Architectural History, lschrenk@email.arizona.edu

Motor Culture and the Road
Stacy Rusnak, PhD, Georgia Gwinnett College, Film, srusnak@ggc.edu

Mystery Science Theater and the Culture of Riffing
Robert G. Weiner, Texas Tech University Library, rweiner5@sbcglobal.net

Neo-Victorianism and Steampunk
Gordon Marshall, PhD, Istanbul Aydin University, English, gordmarshall@gmail.com

Philosophy and Popular Culture
Burcu Gurkan, PhD, Istanbul Sehir University, Foreign Languages, philswpca@gmail.com

Science, Technology, and Culture
Warren Kay, PhD, Merrimack College, Religious & Theological Studies, kayw@merrimack.edu

Zombie Culture
Robert G. Weiner, Texas Tech University Library, rweiner5@sbcglobal.net

Teaching and the Profession

Pedagogy and Popular Culture
Kurt Depner, New Mexico State University, kudepner@nmsu.edu
Facebook Group:  SWPACA Pedagogy & Popular Culture
Twitter:  Pedagogy&PopCulture ‏@SWPCAPedagogy

Undergraduate Presentations
Note: All individual proposals by undergrads must be submitted here
Raymond A. Hall, PhD, Central Washington University, Africana and Black Studies, hallray@cwu.edu