Call for Papers

2015-Many-Faces

Popular and American Culture Studies

Many Faces, Many Voices:
Intersecting Borders in Popular and American Culture

Join us for the 36th Annual SWPACA Conference
February 11 – 14, 2015,
Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Join us as we embrace the scholarship addressing the ways we cross borders in our everyday lives. From personal experiences of gender, class, and race/ethnicity, to disciplinary intersections with pedagogical implications, the future of American and Popular Culture is dynamic and rich!  The Southwest Popular/American Culture Association is now accepting paper/panel proposals for our 36th annual conference being held February 11 – 14, 2015 at the Hyatt Regency Hotel and Conference Center, Albuquerque, NM.

Submission Directions:

Use this list of Subject Areas when preparing your paper/panel proposal. The areas are divided into multiple thematic categories; use the jump-links below to navigate to various categories, or just scroll down the extensive list. For 2015, the conference has combined, expanded, and/or discontinued various subject areas.  So, please check this revised list carefully before deciding which area to send your proposal.

Click on an individual area name to find its Call for Papers. Please note that many areas have specific requirements for proposals, as explained in their respective CFPs.

For 2015, applicants must enter their proposals directly through the conference’s online submission database. We will begin accepting soon.  Final deadline for submissions is November 1, 2014. Area chairs will NOT consider any emailed proposals. However, if you need additional information prior to submitting a proposal, email the appropriate area chair.

Each applicant may submit only one paper proposal.  The proposed paper should not have been published or presented elsewhere.

Go to Conference Database

Regards,

Kelli Shapiro, PhD
Area Development & Awards Coordinator
KShapiro@southwestpca.org

SWPACA Subject Area List:

Culture | Ethnicity | Film, Television, and Media Studies | Language and Writing | Literature | Material Culture | Music | Science Fiction and Fantasy | Special Topics | Teaching and the Profession

Culture

American Studies and American History
Deborah Marinski, Ohio University – Southern Campus, History, marinski@ohio.edu

Jeff Birdsong, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College, Social Sciences, jbirdsong@neo.edu

Religion
Warren Kay, Merrimack College, Religious & Theological Studies, kayw@merrimack.edu

Women, Gender, and Sexuality
Pat Tyrer, West Texas A&M University, English and Modern Languages, ptyrer@wtamu.edu

Ethnicity

Africana Studies
David Jackson, Metropolitan State University of Denver, Africana Studies, djacks76@msudenver.edu

Arab Culture in the U.S.
Lutfi Hussein, Mesa Community College, English, lutfi.hussein@yahoo.com

Asian Popular Culture / The Asian-American Experience
Debbie Scally, University of Texas – Dallas, Humanities, sensei0918@yahoo.com

Chicano/a Literature, Film, and Culture
Jeanette Sanchez, University of Washington, Drama, jeannie8@u.washington.edu

Native American/Indigenous Studies
Margaret Vaughan, Metropolitan State University, Ethnic Studies, margaret.vaughan@metrostate.edu
Follow the Native American/Indigenous Studies area on Facebook at www.facebook.com/nativeswtxpca and on Twitter @nativeswtxpca

Film, Television, and Media Studies

Adaptation: Literature, Film, and Culture
Chuck Hamilton, Northeast Texas Community College, English, chamilton@ntcc.edu

Alfred Hitchcock
Michael Howarth, Missouri Southern State University, English, Howarth-M@mssu.edu

The American West: Film and Literature
Larry Van Meter, Langston University, English, larry.vanmeter@gmail.com

Classical Representations in Popular Culture
Benjamin Haller, Virginia Wesleyan College, Classics, bhaller@vwc.eduhttps://www.facebook.com/classical.representations

Computer Culture
Natasha Chuk, School of Visual Arts, Art History, natychuk@gmail.com

Film Studies
Allen Redmon, Texas A&M University – Central Texas, English, allen.redmon@ct.tamus.edu

Film and History
Brad Duren, Oklahoma Panhandle State University, Behavioral & Social Sciences, duren@opsu.edu

Film Theory and Aesthetics
Jennifer L. Jenkins, University of Arizona, English, jenkinsj@email.arizona.edu

Game Studies, Culture, Play, and Practice
Judd Ruggill, Arizona State University, Communication, jruggill@asu.edu

Horror (Literary and Cinematic)
Steffen Hantke, Sogang University, English, steffenhantke@gmail.com

James Bond, Espionage, and Eurospy
Michele Brittany, Independent Scholar, spyfi.superspies@gmail.com

Reality TV
Dalyn Luedtke, Norwich University, English and Communications, dalyn@norwich.edu

Shakespeare in Popular Culture
Jessica Maerz, University of Arizona, Theatre Studies, jmaerz@email.arizona.edu

Stardom and Fandom
Lynn Zubernis, West Chester University of Pennsylvania, Counselor Education, lzubernis@wcupa.edu

Television
Monica Ganas, Azusa Pacific University, Theater, Mganas@apu.edu

Theatre and Performance Studies
Lynn Sally, Metropolitan College of New York, American Urban Studies, lsally@mcny.edu

Language and Writing

Creative Writing (Poetry, Fiction)
Jerry Bradley, Lamar University, English, jerry.bradley@lamar.edu

Creative Writing Pedagogy
Julie Chappell, Tarleton State University, English & Languages, chappell@tarleton.edu

Experimental Writing and Aesthetics
Hugh Tribbey, East Central University, English, htribbey@ecok.edu

Linguistics
Maria Eugenia Trillo, Western New Mexico University, Spanish, trillomariae@gmail.com

Rhetoric and Technical Communication
Meagan Rodgers, University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma, English, meagan.rodgers@gmail.com

Literature

Beats and Counterculture
Christopher Carmona, University of Texas at Brownsville, English, beatswtxpca@gmail.com

Biography, Autobiography, Memoir, and Personal Narrative
Melinda McBee, Independent Scholar, mcbee58@verizon.net

Captivity Narratives
B. Mark Allen, South Texas College, History and Philosophy, bmallen@southtexascollege.edu

Children’s/Young Adult Literature and Culture
Diana Dominguez, University of Texas – Brownsville, English, gypsyscholar@rgv.rr.com

European Popular Culture and Literature
M. Catherine Jonet, New Mexico State University, Women’s Studies, mjonet@nmsu.edu

Graphic Novels, Comics, and Popular Culture
Robert G. Weiner, Texas Tech University Library, Humanities, rweiner5@sbcglobal.net

Eco-Criticism and the Environment
Jeremy Elliott, Abilene Christian University, Language and Literature, jke10a@acu.edu

Folklore Studies
Phyllis Bridges, Texas Woman’s University, English, pbri41@msn.com

Literature (General)
Shelley Rees, University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma, English, srees@usao.edu

Mystery/Detective Fiction
Lexey Bartlett, Fort Hays State University, English, labartlett@fhsu.edu

Myth and Fairy Tales
Jacquilyn Weeks, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, English, weeksj@iupui.edu

Poetry and Poetics (Critical)
Scarlett Higgins, University of New Mexico, English, shiggins@unm.edu

Material Culture

Consumer Culture and Advertising
Michelle Kaiserlian, Austin Community College, Art, mkaiserl@umail.iu.edu

Fashion, Style, Appearance, & Identity
Carla Perez, University of the Incarnate Word, Fashion Management,perezc@uiwtx.edu

Food and Culture
Laura Anh Williams, New Mexico State University, Women’s Studies, lawill@nmsu.edu

Libraries, Archives, Museums, & Popular Culture
Janet Brennan Croft, University of Oklahoma Library, Access Services, jbcroft@ou.edu

Visual Arts
Nancy Kay, Merrimack College, Art History,kayn@merrimack.edu

Music

Grateful Dead
Nicholas Meriwether, University of California – Santa Cruz, McHenry Library, nicholas@ucsc.edu

Music: Traditional, Political, Popular
Cody Smith, College of the Mainland, History, codyhsmith@gmail.com

Punk Music and Culture
Bryan L. Jones, Oklahoma State University, English, bryan.l.jones@okstate.edu

Rap and Hip-Hop Culture
Robert Tinajero, Paul Quinn College, English, hiphopcfp@hotmail.com

Science Fiction and Fantasy

Follow the Science Fiction and Fantasy area on Facebook at www.facebook.com/swtxsff and on Twitter @swtxsffchairs

Science Fiction and Fantasy – General
Rikk Mulligan, Association of Research Libraries, Scholarly Publishing, rikk.mulligan@gmail.com

Science Fiction and Fantasy – Literature
Brian Cowlishaw, Northeastern State University, Languages and Literature, cowlishb@nsuok.edu

Doctor Who and/or Torchwood
Erin Giannini, Independent Scholar, egiannini37@gmail.com

A Game of Thrones
Brian Cowlishaw, Northeastern State University, Languages and Literature, cowlishb@nsuok.edu

The Hunger Games
Brian Cowlishaw, Northeastern State University, Languages and Literature, cowlishb@nsuok.edu

Supernatural (TV series)
Tamy Burnett, University of Nebraska – Lincoln, English, swtxpca.org@gmail.com

The Vampire Diaries
Tamy Burnett, University of Nebraska – Lincoln, English, swtxpca.org@gmail.com

The Works of Joss Whedon
Susan Fanetti, California State University – Sacramento, English, sfanetti@csus.edu

Special Topics

Apocalypse, Dystopia, and Disaster in Culture
Shane Trayers, Middle Georgia State College – Macon Campus, English, trayers.shane@gmail.com

Breaking Bad
Nick Gerlich, West Texas A&M University, Marketing, ngerlich@wtamu.edu

Children in Film
Debbie Olson, University of Texas – Arlington, English, dolson@uta.edu

Cormac McCarthy
Richmond Adams, Eastern Oklahoma State College, English, richmondadams2004@gmail.com

Crime and Culture
Darrell Hamlin, Fort Hays State University, Justice Studies, dahamlin@fhsu.edu

Digital Humanities
David D. Oberhelman, Oklahoma State University Library, Humanities-Social Sciences Division, d.oberhelman@okstate.eduhttp://dhswpaca.wordpress.com

Disability Studies
Lexey Bartlett, Fort Hays State University, English, labartlett@fhsu.edu

Eclectica
Jeff Clayton, Lee College, English, jclayton@lee.edu

The Geek and Popular Culture
Kathryn Lane, Northwest Oklahoma State University, English, kelane@nwosu.edu

Harry Potter Studies
Christopher Bell, University of Colorado – Colorado Springs, Communication, cbell3@uccs.edu

Material Culture and the Built Environment
Lisa Schrenk, University of Arizona, Architectural History, lschrenk@email.arizona.edu

Motor Culture and the Road
Stacy Rusnak, Georgia Gwinnett College, Film, srusnak@ggc.edu

Mystery Science Theater and the Culture of Riffing
Robert G. Weiner, Texas Tech University Library, Humanities, rweiner5@sbcglobal.net

Neo-Victorianism and Steampunk
Gordon Marshall, Istanbul Aydin University, English, gordmarshall@gmail.com

Philosophy and Popular Culture
Burcu Gurkan, Istanbul Sehir University, Foreign Languages, philswpca@gmail.com

Science, Technology, and Culture
Warren Kay, Merrimack College, Religious & Theological Studies, kayw@merrimack.edu 

War and Culture
Steffen Hantke, Sogang University, English, steffenhantke@gmail.com

Zombie Culture
Robert G. Weiner, Texas Tech University Library, Humanities, rweiner5@sbcglobal.net

Teaching and the Profession

Pedagogy and Popular Culture
Co-chairs:
Kurt Depner, New Mexico State University, kudepner@nmsu.edu
Erik Walker, Plymouth South High School, English & Journalism, ErikMWalker@aol.com

Undergraduate Presentations
Raymond A. Hall, Central Washington University, Africana and Black Studies, hallray@cwu.edu