Archive | News

RSS feed for this section

Database Opens July 1; Proposals Due November 15

The Southwest Popular/American Culture Association (SWPACA) Presenter Database is scheduled to open July 1 for submissions for the 35th Annual conference, to be held February 19-22, 2014 in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Veterans of the our conference know that the SWPACA has been at the forefront of conference technology for the last few years, utilizing a presenter database to increase efficacy in the proposal submission and review process, as well as to assist in creating a conference program. This year the database will once again be updated,  improving the experience for all users.

The database will open to users July 1 at:

As always, the SWPACA Area Chairs will practice rolling review of proposals, which means an individual submitting a proposal should receive a response within two weeks of submission.

UPDATE: Due to the overwhelming response today, with our database working overtime to handle the flood of submissions, the SWPACA executive team has decided to extend the submission period to November 15, 2013.

This will give those who have not decided to attend this year’s conference a chance to submit a paper/panel proposal!



New Name, New Look, New Logo, New Web Site

SWPACA-LogoThe Southwest Popular/American Culture Association (SWPACA) is pleased to announce its 35th annual conference will be held in Albuquerque, New Mexico, February 19-22, 2014. This year marks several areas of growth for the Association:

  • The association name will change, effective May 2013, from the “Southwest/Texas Popular and American Culture Association” to the “Southwest Popular/American Culture Association”
  • The SWPACA web site has been updated and moved to its new home at – be sure to check back regularly for news and info!
  • The SWPACA is pleased to announce the launch of Dialogue: The Interdisciplinary Journal of Popular Culture and Pedagogy.  Please visit for more information.
  • • The SWPACA’s flagship award, the Peter C. Rollins Book Award, established a new standard in 2013, recognizing three outstanding volumes in separate areas of popular and American culture:
    • Traditional Film/Television Studies
    • Popular Culture Studies
    • Sequential Art/Comics and Animation Studies

It is our goal to attract a new group of authors with these new subject categories in honoring the legacy of Peter C. Rollins the founder of our organization.